Keep up to date on new content, company updates, upcoming events, special offers and behind the scenes action.

Sign Up

Alastair Cooper-Golec


Alastair Cooper-Golec is a Melbourne-based tenor. He is the 2023 recipient of the Dr Michael Stubbs and Malcolm Roberts Victorian Opera Prize.  He holds completed his Master of Music (Opera Performance) from The University of Melbourne, where he also holds a Bachelor of Music with Honours.

In 2021, Alastair was a Herald Sun Aria finalist, winning the John Fulford Memorial Prize. He won second prize at the National Liederfest competition and is an alumnus of Songmakers Australia’s Young Artist Programme. Alastair is a current member of Melbourne Opera’s Richard Divall Emerging Artist Programme.

Alastair made his featured debut as Rustighello in Donizetti’s Lucrezia Borgia (Melbourne Opera), for which he has received a 2023 Greenroom nomination. His recent credits include Basillio in The Marriage of Figaro (Melbourne Opera), Toby Higgins in Kurt Weill’s The Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny (IOpera and Melbourne Opera), and Acis in Handel’s Acis and Galatea (IOpera). He has also worked with Pinchgut Opera in their Rameau Triple Bill, and their 2019 production of Il Ritorno d’Ulisse in Patria. Last year, he joined Opera Australia in their production of Wagner’s Lohengrin, starring Jonas Kaufmann.

Alastair has worked with Victorian Opera since its inception, most recently appearing as Drebednyov in their adaptation of Shostakovich’s Melbourne, Cheremushki. Other productions include Brother Ben Owens in Weill’s Happy End, Idomeneo, The Pearl Fishers, The Barber of Seville and a very grumpy Zachary Briddling in Joseph Twist’s The Grumpiest Boy in the World.

During his time at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, Alastair played Albert in Albert Herring, Pluto and Mercury in Orpheus in the Underworld (Offenbach), Rinuccio in Gianni Schicchi and Tamino in Die Zauberflöte.

Alastair Cooper-Golec appears courtesy of Victorian Opera. Alastair is the 2023 recipient of the Michael Stubbs and Malcolm Roberts Opera Prize.